History of Lyon-DeWitt Funeral Home

Somewhere near 1930, Mr. U.V. Walker started this funeral home. He was later joined by Mr. Alex Edelen and Marshal Lyon.

Mr. Lyon later took over as sole owner and moved the funeral home to the old Coyle Drug Store building on Main Street until 1957 when he moved it to its present location. Mr. Marshall Lyon operated this business until this retirement in 1972.

Mr. Lyon then sold the business to his daughter and son-n-law, Libby and Tommy Breeding. They operated the business until 1986 when it was purchased by Mr. Larry DeWitt and he is the sole owner today.

Mr. Lyon moved the funeral home in 1957 to the Chandler Home. Joseph H. Chandler built this two-story Italianate house, with a bungalow style porch, in 1873. Mr. Chandler served as state senator in the Kentucky Legislature.

The Lyon-DeWitt funeral home started with 11 rooms, six downstairs and five upstairs. In the 10-ft front entry hall, the spiraling, solid cherry balustrade is stunning. The house boasts six fireplaces. As the photos below show, there has been a lot of extensive building and remodeling done to the building at its present location by Mr. DeWitt.

The current staff includes; four licensed funeral directors and embalmers, one pre-arrangement counselor, several part time employees also work on this staff.

We invite you to come by anytime and visit this historical home.

Lyon-DeWitt Historical Photos:


Entrance 1957

Office 1957
 

Chapel 1957

Front of Building 1957
 

Showroom 1957

Small Chapel 1957
 
 


Site designed & hosted by: Loving Honors, Inc.
Feedback: info@lovinghonors.com